IEEE

Subcommittees

Subcommittee A – Cable Construction and Design

Scope:

The subcommittee considers all issues related to materials, construction, design and manufacturing of insulated cables

Mission Statement:

The Cable Construction and Design Subcommittee provides an informational forum for discussions on aging and performance characteristics of various cable constructions, chemical, physical and electrical tests of cable dielectrics, and performance of cables in service.

Chairs:

Discussion / Working Groups:

A01D – Characteristics of Insulating Materials (Inactive)
Chair: Vacant
Vice Chair: Vacant
This Working Group is focused on insulating materials employed in cable systems. The objective is to provide a forum for the exchange of information on materials employed or present in cables or accessories.

A02D – Characteristics of Semi-conductive Shields (Inactive)
Chair: Harry Orton, OCEI, h.orton@ieee.org
Vice Chair: Cindy Flenniken, Lyondell Chemicals, cindy.flenniken@lyondellbasell.com
To bring together input from industry, university and cable users on the effects of semiconductive contamination on the performance of underground cable insulation systems. Recommendations will be made by this task group to either modify existing industrial standards or to produce new standards to improve the quality of semiconductive shields where it has been determined necessary.

A03D – Performance of Extruded Dielectrics (Inactive)
Chair: John Densley, ArboLec Solutions, j.densley@ieee.org
Vice Chair: Vacant
To provide a forum for discussion and for the exchange of information on the performance of dielectrics used in extruded power cable systems.

A04D – Definition of Tree Retardant Crosslinked Polyethylene (Inactive)
Chair: Serge Pelissou, Hydro Quebec
Vice Chair: Richie Harp, TXU
The A4D Discussion Group is examining issues related to the performance of cables insulated with what is generally called tree retardant crosslinked polyethylene (TRXLPE). The term TRXLPE is often used in the electric utility industry but currently there is no uniformly accepted definition. This group is working to consolidate and document the activities that have been conducted since 1997 to define TRXLPE based on performance data.

A05W – Properties of Identifiable Jackets (P1235 2000)
Chair: Jim Guo, Techimp USA Corporate
Vice Chair: Lakshman 
Raut, General Cable, LRaut@generalcable.com
To prepare a guide on recommendations for red stripe and raised ridge identification markings on insulating and semiconducting jacketed underground cables.

A06D – Accelerated Electrical Aging
Chair: Detlef Wald, Eifelkabel, d.wald@ieee.org
Vice Chair: Paul Caronia, Dow Chemical, caronipj@dow.com
To develop accelerated electrical aging tests and procedures for the determination of the long term life performance characteristics and capabilities of solid polymeric and fluid filled cables under multi-stress, in-service conditions.

A07W – Guide for Selecting and Testing Jackets for Underground Cables (P532-2007)
Chair: Paul Caronia, Dow Chemical, caronipj@dow.com
Vice Chair: Michael Wright, General Cable, mwright@generalcable.com
Revise IEEE 532, Guide for Selecting and Testing Jackets for Underground Cables based on the IEEE protocol to review and revise guides on a 5 years basis.

A08W – Tests for Compatibility of Cable Pulling Lubricants with Wire & Cable (P1210)
Chair: Michael Wright, General Cable, mwright@generalcable.com
Vice Chair: David Elliot, Dominion Energy, david.l.elliott@dominionenergy.com
This group is being reactivated in order to consider revision or reaffirmation of IEEE 1210-1996, Tests for Compatibility of Cable Pulling Lubricants with Wire & Cable, in accordance with the five year maintenance cycle.

A09D – Guide for Moisture Measurement in SF6 (Inactive)
Chair: Vacant
Vice Chair: Vacant

A10D – Conductors
Chair: Jeff Joy, Seattle City Light, jeff.joy@seattle.gov
Vice Chair: Cory Liu, Southwire, cory.liu@southwire.com

A11W – Guide for the Selection, Testing, Application and Installation of Cables Having Radial Moisture Barriers and/or Longitudinal  Water Blocking
(P1142 1995)

Chair: Ken Bow, Kable Consult LLC, kblecnslt@consultant.com
Vice Chair: Mick Bayer, STV Energy Services, mickbayer@ieee.org
The mission of this working group is to continually stay abreast of technology and materials developments that enhance cable performance and life by preventing damage or deterioration from the effects of moisture and chemicals. As technology of this type develops, the Working Group will strive to keep IEEE Guide 1142 updated.

A12D – Cable Designs Impervious to Moisture (Inactive)
Chair: Jack P. Steiner, ComEd
Vice Chair: Mike L. Walker, Center Point Energy, m.l.walker@ieee.org
To develop a Guide for the Design, Testing, and Applicaition of Moisture-Impervious, Solid Dielectric, 5-35kV Power Cable Using Metal Plastic Laminates.

A13W – IEEE Guide for Accelerated Aging Tests for Medium-Voltage (5 kV – 35 kV) Extruded Electric Power Cables Using Water-Filled Tanks
(IEEE 1407 – 2007) (P1407 1998)
Chair: Mark Walton, General Cable, mwalton@generalcable.com
Vice Chair: Detlef Wald, Eifelkabel, d.wald@ieee.org
To revise IEEE Std 1407-1998: Guide for Accelerated Aging Tests for Medium-Voltage Extruded Electric Power Cables Using Water-Filled Tanks.

A14D – Power Cable Standards
Chair: Brent Richardson, Dow Wire & Cable, brichardson@dow.com
Vice Chair: Ashley Eanes, Duke Energy, ashley.eanes@duke-energy.com
To provide a forum for keeping members informed of planned and recently completed additions and revisions to power cable standards, as well as advising how to contribute to and influence their development.

A15W – Guide for Selection and Design of Aluminum Sheaths for Power Cables (Inactive) (P635)
Chair: Ettore J. Bartolucci, Okonite, bartolucci@okonite.com
Vice Chair: Jamie Garcia, General Cable, JGarcia3@generalcable.com

A16D – Characteristics of EPR Cables
Chair: Robert E Fleming, Marmon Innovation & Technology, Robert.Fleming@r-scc.com
Vice Chair: Steven Graham, Duke Energy – Nuclear Gen, s.graham@ieee.org  s.graham@ieee.org
To provide a forum for exchange of information on the characteristics of Ethylene-Propylene Rubber Insulated cables.

A17W – Guide for the Application of Extruded Conductor and Insulation Shields for Shielded Power Cables Rated 5 kV to 500 kV AC (Inactive) (P1781)
Chair: Tim Person, Dow Chemical Co., persontj@dow.com
Vice Chair: Serge Pelissou, Hydro Quebec (IREQ)
To provide guidance to users of extruded dielectric distribution and transmission power cables on the selection of extruded conductor and insulation shield materials for their intended application.

A18 / B12W- Guide for Investigating and Analyzing Shielded Power Cable Failure on Systems Rated 5kV through 46kV (P1511.1) (P1511.2)
Chair: Margaret Jasek, PNM Resources of New Mexico, mjasek@pnm.com
Vice Chair: Brian Ayres, TE Connectivity, Brian.Ayres@te.com
To develop a general overview and suggested working procedures to investigate and analyze cable failures on systems rated 5 kV through 46 kV  

A19D – Cover Conductors Rated 5kV through 46V: Weatherproof Conductors, Tree Wire and Space Cable System
Chair:Thomas Campbell, Consolidated Edison, campbellt@coned.com
Vice Chair: Kim Nuckles, Southwire, kim_nuckles@southwire.com
To provide a forum for reviewing issues related to the Discussion Group Scope. If the Group determines that there is a need for a standard or guide on Covered Conductors, a new mission will be established and the Discussion Group will be converted to a Working Group.

A20D – Low Voltage Cable Systems Rated up to 600V
Chair:Paul Brigandi, Dow Chemical Co, pjbrigandi@dow.com
Vice Chair: Yuhsin Hawig, Southwire, Yuhsin.Hawig@Southwire.com

W = Working Group (Prepares a document such as a standard, guide or paper)
D = Discussion Group (Provides a forum for discussion on a focused topic.)
Working groups have the PAR # in parenthesis.